Monday, March 28, 2011

KONTAKTE - We move through negative spaces [2011]

Conceived in 2005 from a string of old 4-track demos and further realized via a labyrinth of digital workstations and computer software, Kontakte emerged in early 2006. The concept was to blend organic instrumentation within an electronic and hypnotic framework of programmed beats and pulsing synths. Inspired by the walls of sound of bands like Godspeed You Black Emperor and Mogwai, Kontakte’s other main passions were the ambient sounds of Brian Eno, mid-late 70’s German electronica and the early 90’s shoegaze scene. Taking elements from all of these things, Kontakte have endeavoured to create a sound that is uniquely and deservedly their own.

Having released two singles, a debut album ‘Soundtracks To Lost Road Movies’ (featuring remixes by Tim Holmes of Death In Vegas and Chris Olley of Six. By Seven, et al) and appearing on the most recent Northern Star Records compilation; Kontakte have toured the UK, headlined the Feedback Fever Festival in Hamburg and continuously play intense live shows, receiving high praise both online and in the press.

Having now expanded their live arsenal to 4 members, the Kontakte live experience is a blistering wall of guitar noise with shimmering electronics and ethereal melodies – a band to savour.

Genre - Electro | Post-rock | Instrumental
Country - UK
Sounds like - The American Dollar, TWDY, The Echelon Effect, Crisopa
Label - Drifting Falling

01. Astralagus
02. Hope...
03. With Glowing Hearts
04. Early Evening Bleeds Into Night
05. A Snowflake In Her Hand
06. The Owls Won't See Us Her
07. Every Passing Hour
08. The Ocean Between Me And You

No comments :

Post a Comment