Friday, July 29, 2011

MENISCUS - War of currents [2011]

Meniscus’s lush ambient soundscapes, driving bass lines and poly-rhythmic beats create a unique musical experience that has been hypnotising Australian audiences since 2005.

The Sydney trio’s unique brand of instrumental post rock blends the moody dynamics of acts like Mogwai and Sigur Rós with the prog rock technicality of King Crimson.

The critical success of the band’s 2007 EP 'Absence of I' elevated Meniscus’s profile globally with rave reviews from The Silent Ballet (“Beautifully crafted and impeccably conceived….very good doesn’t quite sum this up, it’s amazing”) and Sputnik Music (“Meniscus have a wizardly sense of dynamics, songs flowing with the purity of water….technically brilliant and tightly composed”).

Despite this success, the departure of drummer and co-founder Duncan Wilson forced Meniscus into hiatus in 2008. In early 2009, founding members Daniel Oreskovic (guitar) and Alison Kerjean (bass) made a comeback to the live circuit with new drummer Cameron Brennan, showcasing new songs and arrangements.

Genre - Post-rock | Progressive
Country - Australia
Sounds like - Tides From Nebula, Mogwai, Sleepmakeswaves
Label - Unsigned

01. Room 3327
02. 130
03. Immersion
04. Fight Club
05. Cursed
06. Infant

Incredible band.

Thursday, July 28, 2011

ALL INDIA RADIO - Free me [2011]

Genre - Electro | Ambient | Downtempo
Country - Australia
Sound like - Bogatzke, Orange Crush
Bitrates - 320kbps
Label - Unsigned

01. The End or Near (The Bomb Mix)
02. Solstice (Film Mix)
03. The Time (Triphop Mix)
04. Black Satin (Radio Edit)
05. The Bomb (Dub Mix)
06. Intrigue (Lost Highway Mix)
07. White Satin (3PBS Mix)
08. Morning Drops (Acoustic Mix)
09. Whistle (Unreleased Mix)
10. Waukaringa (Unreleased Version)
11. Tijuana Dream (Unreleased Guitar Mix)

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

SLEEPMAKESWAVES - ....And so we destroyed everything [2011]

Genre - Post-rock | Progressive | Shoegaze
Country - Australia
Sounds like - Tides From Nebula, Exxasens, Caspian
Label - Bird's Robe Records
Myspace || Facebook

01. To you they are birds, to me they are voices in the forest
02. In limbs and joints
03. Our time is short but your watch is slow
04. A gaze blank and pitiless as the sun
05. (hello) cloud mountain
06. Now we rise and we are everywhere
07. We like you when you're awkward
08. ...and so we destroyed everything

Download removed by request.

Thursday, July 21, 2011

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

IT PREVAILS - Stroma [2011]

Genre - Metal | Hardcore | Progressive
Country - USA
Sounds like - Misery Signals, Farewell To Freeway, Of Virtue, Counterparts
Label - Mediaskare Records
Myspace || Lastfm || Wiki

01. Holes
02. The Task
03. Cage With Gold Bars
04. Shine Through
05. Artisian
06. Holding On
07. What You've Been Searching For
08. Something More
09. Break Away
10. Open Wide
11. Luxury
12. Stroma (Pushing One's Self)

Monday, July 11, 2011

MORNE - Asylum [2011]

Morne was a concept that began with many trials and tribulations. The band was founded by Milosz Gassan in 2005, and while there were many interested individuals in making the project happen, only one lineup had the dedication and passion to make the band a reality. In 2007, Milosz was joined by Max Furst (bass) and Kevin Adams (drums) and it was here where Morne began to create and develop the band’s distinct sound heard today.

Genre - Post-metal | Atmospheric Sludge
Country - USA
Sounds like - Cult Of Luna, Dirge, Voyager
Label - Profound Lore,Feral Ward, Alerta Antifascista
Myspace || Reverbnation

01. Asylum
02. Edge of the Sky
03. Nothing to Remain
04. I Will See You
05. Killing Fields
06. My Return
07. Volition

Thursday, July 7, 2011

WE ARE THE ILLUSION - The podium of lies (EP) [2010]

Genre - Progressive Deathcore | Djent
Country - Finland
Sounds like - Circle Of Contempt, Veil Of Maya, Centuries Apart
Label - Unsigned
Myspace ||

01. Gates Of Inception
02. The Podium
03. A Falling Entity
04. Verge Of Man
05. Heroes
06. Flawed Equilibrium

THE TONY DANZA TAPDANCE EXTRAVAGANZA - DANZA III : The series of unfortunate events [2010]

Genre - Progressive Deathcore | Math-metal
Country - USA
Sounds like - A Plea For Purging, Ion Dissonance, Cloudkicker
Label - Metal Blade Records

01. Vicki Mayhem
02. Yippie-Kay-Yay Motherfucker
03. I Am Sammy Jankis
04. The Lost & Damned
05. Passenger 57
06. There's A Time And Place For Everything
07. W.A.L.L.S.
08. Suicide's Best Friend
09. Hour of The Time
10. The Union
11. A Trail of Tears
12. 12-21-12

Wednesday, July 6, 2011

HANDS - Give me rest [2011]

Shane Ochsner, Josh Silbernagel, Chris Schwartz and Jerik Hendrickson collectively are Hands, a Fargo band that combines circling atmospheric guitars punctuated with hard hitting progressions. They are a band in which rock and roll meets ambient hardcore and warm silvery singing rivals hardcore screams. Their songs are carefully crafted and layered with hope and strength, their evocative lyrics and emotional vocals leave Hands open-hearted to listeners. Ochsner's voice carries seamlessly from throaty growl to melodic yell and settles beautifully into sweet harmony as the songs progress.

Genre - Atmospheric Post-hardcore
Country - USA
Sounds like - Cult Of Luna, Trenches, Underoath

01. I Will
02. Water
03. Cube
04. The Helix
05. Here I Am
06. Jovian
07. Northern Lights
08. 2005
09. Restart
10. Give Me Rest